About the runes

Fehu rune Uruz rune Thurisaz rune Ansuz rune

Runes have been used for centuries for a variety of purposes. As well as forming a basic alphabet, each letter or rune has its own individual meaning. This combination has created a powerful means of written communication - for messages, epitaphs and inscriptions. Further, several of the runes are associated with a pagan deity. As a result they have been imbued with a sense of magic, and have been used as a means of divination, for rituals, magic and for charms. The word rune means secret or hidden, from the ancient word ru.

The runes used for this readings site were designed by ShannathShima, based on an Unakite gemstone and using the Elder Futhark set of runes. The word futhark comes from the first six letters of the runic alphabet. The Elder Futhark dates from the second century AD, although other runic systems had been in use long before then.

The names of the runes in the Elder Futhark are Fehu, Uruz, Thurisaz, Ansuz, Raidho, Kenaz, Gebu, Wunjo, Hagalaz, Nauthiz, Isa, Jera, Eihwaz, Perthro, Algiz, Sowilo, Tiwaz, Berkano, Ehwaz, Mannaz, Laguz, Ingwaz, Dagaz and Othala.

Show all the runes and their symbols.

Rune reading Rune of the day Biorhythms Numerology

If you like this site, please consider sharing it with your friends.